Påtår For Finals

Påtår (Swedish): på • tår
Noun; a second refill, or “threefill”, of coffee.

It’s that time of year again.

Highlighters and pens fill up your bag to the rim. Random snacks like mini Oreos, Cheerios and sour cream and onion chips for breakfast. Naps instead of 8-hour sleeps. Wearing the same outfit for three days in a row. You can feel your brain slowly turn into mush. Your bloodstream slowly transforms from blood, into coffee.

Finals.

Okay I can’t totally complain since I was lucky enough to only have four finals this semester. But last semester, when I had six finals, that was definitely me. I remember I had a caramel macchiato with three sugars, and was literally bouncing off the walls (I drank it at 8am and was still jittery at 11pm. I try to avoid drinking those now). I also did have Cheetos and a Twinkie for breakfast during last semester’s final exam period. I was a straight up zombie. Thankfully, having four somewhat-nicely-spaced-out exams, I can breathe a bit. I won’t be able to do a lot of art-related things, but at least I’ll get this year over with, ready to work for the summer and rejuvenate for the next year ahead.

With finals approaching rapidly, I find one of the most underrated problems about studying for finals is finding a good study space. You automatically want to go to a library, but when your campus has 50’000 students in the same boat as you, the libraries– especially the really nice library spaces– are full. What about the unappealing libraries? Full. Dorms? Too loud, despite the quiet hour signs plastered everywhere. At a friends? If you’re like me, it’s difficult to get any work done around friends. This is the downside of a large university, I have to say. Finding a decent study space is difficult, and soon, you find yourself aimlessly roaming campus to find one; a small corner in a building nobody goes too.

At least, that’s where I found mine! Okay, it’s not a corner, but a lounge with like, three people and a kitchen. Pretty snazzy if you ask me. Okay, the chairs are a tad uncomfortable and the walk is a little far, but you know what? Totally worth it. Plus, I can almost guarantee that if I have to get up to go to the washroom, nobody is trying to steal my spot like a hawk. Sometimes, the best study spaces are worth the search. Also, I get a great view.IMG_3917.JPG

If you have finals, good luck! Always remember that you are more than a grade; you’re a human being, not a GPA. We’ll all get through this together, and soon, summer will be upon us (unless you’re also taking summer courses, then, I hope those will be less stressful on you!). Bring on the coffee! 😛

Leave a Reply

