What a Cliché

Cliché: cli • ché
Noun; a phrase or opinion that is overused and betrays a lack of original thought.

IMG_3863.JPG(a begonia flower– symbolizes future misfortunes, challenges, and caution)

I love those cliché romantic gestures. I’m honestly such a hopeless romantic. I feel like it stemmed from my love of movies. I’m such a sucker for romantic comedies and romantic books, ones like Me Before YouSay Anything…The Longest Ride (only the book I really did not like the movie), and 27 Dresses. Reading history doesn’t always help either; sometimes, you get to hear about all these heroic love stories or tragedies, see all these works of art with influences of intense romance and it’s like could you imagine if it happened to me?! And then you remember that in those days the mortality rate was sky-high so suddenly, it’s okay to be in this day and age. Although, I’m not going to lie, if someone wrote a novel or did something historical in my name, I’d still faint.

I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve imagined how someone might propose to me, or what my wedding would be like. Most girls can be like this, not all, but I’m definitely in this category. I haven’t gone to go as far as Pinterest my wedding (I’m nowhere near that stage), but do I often daydream about it when I’m dozing off during a monotone lecture? You know it. I just can’t help it though; I really just love love. I love watching movies of love, I love reading histories of love stories, I love just seeing people in love. I just think love is so great, so wonderful about life. It just makes me so giddy. It’s embarrassing.

When I visited Winnipeg during my winter break, my boyfriend checked off a favourite cliché of mine: surprising the girlfriend at the airport. He even got my two friends into it, even took a Snapchat of him at his school to make me believe it. When he surprised me, I was straight up crying. In a public airport. But it was so memorable, and he actually pulled it off and it felt like a movie. I feel like we all sort of want that in our lives; to have our lives feel like a movie we’d watch over and over again. Personally, if I could make a movie of my life, it’d have to be a musical. Despite my lack in singing talent, I really just want a great dance number and a hit song. Something as good as “Without Love” from Hairspray, or “You Can’t Stop The Beat.”

So give me the boombox outside my window, with my favourite song playing. Give me the rose-petal-pathway and candlelit dinner, the snowed-in cabin up in the mountains, the bridesmaid but never the bride, the lawnmower ride into the sunset. No matter what anyone ever says to me, clichés are adorable, hilarious, and you can’t help but gush and love them. I hope wherever you are, you either witness or commit a cliché today, have a great day! 🙂

 

Here’s more about the meaning behind a begonia flower:
http://www.flowermeaning.com/begonia-flower/

Leave a Reply

