Wanderlust Dreams

Wanderlust: wan • der • lust
Noun; a strong desire for or impulse to wander or travel and explore the world.

FullSizeRender 3.jpg(Here’s a little art history doodle to spread some cheer)

I’ve been wanting to go to Paris, France since I was 4 years old. I don’t really know why actually. I think I ate a baguette, asked my Dad where they came from, and I was sold. Oh and the Eiffel Tower, I’ve always loved it. Even though French isn’t my strongest skill-set I’m still headstrong on going. I know that someday, maybe even soon, I’ll stand under that Eiffel Tower, and have a baguette, like 5-year-old me had wanted.

I’ve always had this sense of wanderlust, always wanting to go to new places. Even though I consider Vancouver my home, a large part of me wishes to travel the world. Secretly, I wanted to drop everything for a year after high school to travel the globe, but since I received a scholarship, I continued on towards a university path. It’s been a dream for most of my life to grab a vintage suitcase, a backpack and travel around the globe (specifically Europe since I’m a sucker for their architecture, but I’d really like to see the world). Paris, Rome, Portofino, Santorini, Madagascar, London, Tokyo, Shanghai, Washington DC (The Smithsonian!!!), New York, Sydney, Honolulu, Montréal, Reykjavik, Athens, Antarctica, Egypt, Morocco, Greenland, Oslo, Copenhagen, the list goes on and on. In the 9th grade, I made a list of all the places I wanted to travel too (I think I even included fictional ones), and it took up around 5 and a half pages. The idea of different cultures, people and environments that are much different than my own, ones that I’ve grown up around. Different ideologies, food, languages, everything that makes humans unique. Each place as their own history, one full of interesting origins, and unbelievable architecture, with their own style and character.

I think I love the idea of travelling because I love learning about people; to me, people are so fascinating. Different backgrounds, perspectives, experiences are so special to each person, and every person’s history is a new story. Learning about different origin stories, and how a culture perceives the universe and their treatment of others is always so wonderful to learn about. Learning about the world and the beings in it has always intrigued me.

Although, it’s sorta funny that I want to travel across the world since I hate flying on airplanes. Mostly just take-off and landing. Thankfully there’s boats! Except that I’m a poor swimmer if anything goes wrong. Nonetheless, one day, I will travel to the places that I’ve dreamed of since I was a five-year old with my children’s atlas. Don’t give up on your dreams, it might take a while, but if you still want it, it’ll happen. I hope that whatever dreams you have, you’ll achieve them. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

