Introverted Batteries

Introvert: in • tro • vert
Noun; a shy, reticent person.

 

Being introverted is sorta weird.

I mean, naturally humans are social creatures; we live in communities, often needing to interact with each other, much like our ape-like family members. Yet, introverts are just like… ah, you know what, I think I prefer the lone-wolf life. And contrary to popular belief, introverts are not anti-social; socializing isn’t a fear, introverts can do such. It’s just that being alone is more appealing most times.

Think of introverts as a battery; fully charged, ready to go, we can do whatever needs to be done– alone or around people, either is fine. We can socialize, be a great team member, and do it all. But as the battery drains, the more we want to be alone; and it’s nothing personal (unless in specific situations), it’s just a feeling we have. We need that recharge, alone time. If you’re me, sometimes I only need 10 minutes, sometimes I need hours. So some introverts (not all) aren’t being anti-social, they’re battery might be a little low.

It’s not the same around everyone too! I could spend endless hours with my boyfriend, and I can spend most of the day with my family (although occasionally, I need like 15 minutes away from their craziness), but even with my closest friends I can only spend a few hours before I feel the need to be alone. But sometimes you meet someone and they’re like a wireless charger– it’s like a match made in heaven. It’s not always common, and can be rare for some introverts. If your friend’s an introvert, and they’re cool with spending endless time with you, feel a little special, because that’s what you may be to them!

When I was a kid, I was used to being alone (being an only child gets you used to it pretty quick). Growing up, there weren’t a lot of introverts around me, since I went to a fairly small school. I didn’t really relate well to anyone already, and nobody else ever seemed to feel the need to be alone. I tried to “fix” this part of me, but that never helped; the more I tried to be social, either a) things would get awkward because I’d say some strange factoid, or b) I’d be socially drained more often. It wasn’t until I got older that I realized that it’s totally okay to be introverted, and that’s what helps to make each of us unique. By being alone, I’ve learned so much about the world around me through observations, and even about myself; I don’t mind going to cafés or the movies alone, rather, it’s totally okay. Being alone shouldn’t stop anyone from doing the cool things in life.

Although, being socially awkward is a whole other thing. But that’s for another time.

So to all the introverts out here: it’s all good. Keep your batteries up. You’re not anti-social, weird, or isolated. Don’t let extroverts or ambiverts tell you any differently. Have a great day 🙂

 

FullSizeRender 2.jpg(Wild flowers I sketched)

Leave a Reply

