Philosophical Thoughts

Philosophy: phi • los • o • phy
Noun; the study of the fundamental nature of knowledge, reality, and existence, especially when considered as an academic discipline.

 

Why are you the person you are right now?

It’s such a strange thing to think about. It’s often something I ponder about when I’m by myself– which happens to be quite often. I’ll be walking around campus, even downtown Vancouver, and observing the people around me; often shopping, on their phones, hustling and bustling around. I’ll stand under the bus shelter and wonder: why are we the person we are? Why is the homeless person singing on the corner of Granville and Nelson that person, with their own mind and thoughts, and the businesswoman leaving Nordstrom is a completely different form of human, with her own wonders and dreams?

Earlier today, on my way to my geomorphology class, I was thinking about this recurring thought: why am I this person? I am who I am through experiences and life-long choices… but why is am I this soul? What got me to be born as this person, and not say, the daughter of a warrior, or the son of an Emperor? And while I’m at it: why in this era? Why am I only conscious of my memories and happenings in this time period? It’s a weird thought. You, me, the person walking down the street, we’re all totally different people, through choices/experiences, but we don’t really know why we’re those people in the first place. Is it all fate’s masterplan? And if so, what would be the main point of it? A biological experiment on a small planet in the Milky Way Galaxy, testing some universal hypothesis? It’s all so confusing, even a little muddled. Humanity is nowhere near getting answers to such provoking questions, and who knows– maybe we never will get answers to questions as who are we, why are we who we are, and what’s even the point of it all? I mean we’re born, do some cool stuff in the middle, and die, so what exactly is the point? Is there even a point at all?

The saddest part about this is that we don’t really have any say in these choices, if they even are choices in the first place. Maybe I didn’t want to be a human, maybe I wanted to be a duck, or a lily (what if ducks pondered on such thoughts? Haha). We’re left without say, sort of forced to be this thing and go about life by conventions we made up; ones that seem minuscule when you look at how small our world from the outer regions of the galaxy.

FullSizeRender.jpg(See, for all we know, this lily I drew was me in another dimension/lifetime…)

Maybe we don’t know who we are, why we’re here, and if we have a purpose. Good chance we may never find out. But I hope that today you did something that made you happy that your soul exists amongst all the others. Have a good day 🙂

Leave a Reply

